SlimFast VoxBox review

I received the products mentioned in this in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

As we begin a new year, the sometimes dreaded New Year’s resolution comes hand in hand with the month of January. Fear not. Eating healthy or trying to lose a few pounds does not have to mean starving yourself, going on an extreme diet, or spending endless hours at the gym.

Growing up, I was a bit of a chubby kid. My mom would buy me SlimFast shakes to have as an evening snack so that I could have something sweet and filling without piling on a ton of calories. The SlimFast brand has changed a great deal since the days of me drinking a shake out of a metal can with a curly straw.

The SlimFast Advanced Nutrition Plan recommends replacing 2 meals a day with a SlimFast product (including shakes, smoothies, and bars), eating 1 healthy meal on your own (don’t skimp on the protein!), and 3 100 calorie snacks throughout the day.

Below are the products I received in my SlimFast VoxBox:

20160110_114553

This shake packs in 20 grams of protein and barely any sugar. I felt like I was indulging in a sweet treat, yet I was providing my body with something healthy. A SlimFast shake is great for those with dietary restrictions because it is lactose free and gluten free. I like to have a shake for breakfast because I often do not have time in the morning to prepare a meal for myself before I head to work or the gym. I love the grab-and-go factor.

20160110_114529

I received a meal replacement bar in Dark Chocolate Sea Salt. This bar is only 190 calories and has 10 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber. I felt full after eating this bar for breakfast. The touch of sweetness from the dark chocolate was quite tasty since I love dark chocolate. The almonds were a nice crunchy surprise too!

20160110_114519.jpg

Who doesn’t love a cinnamon bun? These crunchy cinnamon bun swirls were a nice mid-day snack. The drizzle on top made this snack feel like anything but healthy! I had mine with a small glass of milk on the side. The back of the package recommends trying these swirls as a cereal in milk, I would like to try that next time. I enjoyed the way they tasted separately, and I think milk would only add to the indulgence factor.

20160110_114616.jpg

The last product I received was a savory snack. These sour cream and onion crisps made a nice little snack while I was watching television after work one evening. This snack was enough to satisfy my salty craving with a 100 calorie single portion. Once I finished the bag, I did not feel the need to go back into the kitchen for more food.

SlimFast products have come a long way since the old shakes in the metal cans. With so many meal replacement and snack options, they make it easy to find new and exciting healthy options. If you are looking for some healthy food choices with built-in portion control, give SlimFast a try! After all, #ItsYourThing!

What is your 2016 New Year’s resolution? How have you made changes in your lifestyle to stick with it?

Influenster Disclaimer

I received the products mention in this post from Influenster for testing purposes.

Tags: , , , ,

About Heather DeKlyen

I'm a junior blogger who is in love with freebies, sales, deals, and coupons. I can often be found near a clearance rack. If I find a really great deal, I can't resist sharing!

2 responses to “SlimFast VoxBox review”

  1. Ashley says :

    I’ve always heard a lot about Slimfast and I have to admit that I have tried the shakes… and then threw away the rest. I couldn’t get over the after-taste. It was so awful. However, I’ve never tried their snacks nor did I know they had any available. The our cream and onion crisps look and sound absolutely delicious. That’d be something I’d really enjoy eating. And those cinnamon bun swirls… oh those would be something I’d have to be careful with… I’d want to eat more than one.

    Sounds like you received a great voxbox from Influenster!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather DeKlyen says :

      I remember the old days of the SlimFast shakes in the tin cans with that odd aftertaste. I would recommend giving the shakes another try, they have improved by miles and miles. The crisps taste just like you opened up a bag of chips and the cinnamon bun swirls are that touch of sweet I crave in the evening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

