Mary Kay Clear Proof Acne System review

I have acne-prone skin and have tried nearly every product in the drug store without much success. Name brand, store brand, new product, long-loved by others, it did not matter. That is why I was so excited when Influenster offered me the opportunity to test out the Mary Kay Clear Proof Acne System.

IMG_20141019_095642

Click to watch my unboxing video on YouTube

The Clear Proof Acne System is made up of four steps: clarifying cleansing gel, blemish control toner, acne treatment gel, and oil-free moisturizer for acne-prone skin.

I love the cleansing gel, I only need a small amount to wash my entire face. A rich lather is created so I can cleanse my entire face. When I wash the product off, I can immediately feel my pores tightening. The excess oil from my face was washed right off, and with one easy step.

The next step is the toner. I apply the toner to a cotton pad and swipe across my face. I use one side of the cotton pad for my nose and the other side for the rest of my face. I can see the dirt and gunk on the cotton pad that was once clogging my pores, yuck! I was surprised at how much was clogging my pores, since I do not typically wear makeup.

The third step is the spot treatment gel. I apply a very small amount to my acne blemishes. The tube of this product may be small but not much is needed at each use. I like having the chance to treat my most stubborn areas with benzoyl peroxide. Both the cleanser and toner have salicylic acid in them, and it is important to me to use benzoyl peroxide in addition to best treat my acne.

The final step to this acne system is an oil-free moisturizer. With my skin, I avoid lotions with added oils. With this moisturizer, I can apply a thin layer to my skin. This is enough to keep my skin hydrated as the other products work to dry out my acne-prone areas.

I cannot say that the end result of this product for me is crystal clear skin, but I can say that is does decrease the amount of oil in/on my skin and also reduces the amount of acne blemishes on my skin. This multi-step system worked for me and continues to work for me in ways that many other products have failed to do. I have difficult skin, so I was impressed by this system. I am highly considering adding the Clear Proof Acne System to my Christmas list!

I would recommend this product if you struggle with acne and/or oily skin. Begin by using the products once per day, then increase to twice daily after a few days.

Disclaimer

Disclamier: I received this product free from Influenster for testing purposes.

Like For the Love of the Deal on Facebook

Tags: , , , , ,

About Heather DeKlyen

I'm a junior blogger who is in love with freebies, sales, deals, and coupons. I can often be found near a clearance rack. If I find a really great deal, I can't resist sharing!

Leave a Reply

